Skip to content

Lunch Break at the Internship

June 6, 2011

I just had my very first day at my new internship at Clear Channel Outdoor. I am an advertising major, so I will primarily be working on creating billboards while I am here. The first day was a little mundane, to be honest, but my supervisor admitted that while this was the case, things would become more fun. It’s the “real world” though, as they say.

I had to wake up way before my prime – 6am, so I skipped out on breakfast for sleep. I was not so savvy as to pack my lunch beforehand, so when lunch hour came I had some serious decision-making to do, and the fact that by this time I was nearly starving did not help.

I scoped out a southwest grill (I love Tex Mex, Mexican and Southwest!), but passed it up, knowing that if I were to enter such an establishment with my appetite at the time, I would surely blow my calorie limit out of the water. Instead, I opted to stop by a Publix and pick up some fresh sushi from the seafood section.

Sushi can be a really great option as it fills you up and is often low in calories. My particular sushi choice was 66 calories per roll. I also have some other go-to favorites for eating light on the go. Here are my top choices:

1) Wendy’s chili – 210 cal (sm) 330 cal (lg)

2) McDonald’s Southwest Salad w/ Grilled Chicken with dressing – 420 cal

3) Taco Bell hard taco – 170 cal/taco

4) Starbucks Venti Skinny Iced Caramel Macchiato – 160 -200 cal (I have not found a definitive value for this)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

