Skip to content

10 Little Changes

June 1, 2011

Me (I'm on the right) being ME at my new weight!

When losing a large amount of weight, it can be frustrating. You want to be thin NOW! Or, at least I know I do! Although I know how misleading it can be, I tend to weigh myself on a daily basis. Of course, the number varies only slightly from day to day, only inducing more apprehension.

I try to put things in perspective a bit though. I have lost about 80 pounds now, and it took me 3.5 years! But, overall it has been great as it led to gradual permanent improvements in my lifestyle. Thinking back on it, I can’t believe how different I am today from the person I was when I began my weight loss journey.

10 Changes in Ellen Kramp’s Life Since 2008

  1. I can fit into normal-width shoes now
  2. I no longer eat entire half-gallons of ice cream in one sitting (in part due to the fact that they no longer give you an entire half-gallon’s worth! But no, I really don’t).
  3. I can run, and run for multiple miles. In 2008, I could barely finish a quarter mile without stopping.
  4. I have TONS more energy! I used to sit around watching T.V. hours a day. Now, I am always on the move.
  5. My ring size has gone down 3 numbers! It used to be difficult to even find my ring size.
  6. I get attention from guys. Not that I am a guy magnet, but I used to be invisible at 272 pounds!
  7. I can shop at normal stores and in normal sections! I was previously a size 22 and finding my size in any sort of fashionable clothing store was a MAJOR challenge. Shopping used to make me depressed. Now I am a 14, and can shop nearly anywhere! I love it!
  8. I don’t have to worry about fitting into roller coasters! I used to have such large hips that I just barely squeezed into the seat. Now my bum fits with ease!
  9. I actually like some pictures of myself! I used to HATE pictures. As the weight comes off, there have been a growing number of pictures of myself that I actually don’t hate!
  10. I’m more ME! It is a bit of a cliché, but the weight really does hide a person’s personality, for various reasons. The weight makes it very hard for you to express yourself, whether it’s not being able to find the clothes that actually fit you AND your personality, or not having the confidence and enthusiasm to be outgoing. For me, it was both of these things.

Even though I have not reached my end goal weight, at 195 pounds now I have still achieved a lot of little things along the way. Every time I hit the gym or avoid overeating, I know I am taking a step toward reaching an even greater level of inner happiness.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 9, 2011 3:22 pm

    I’m so happy for you! We’ve gotta keep pushing. All your success is really inspiring for me. “Now my bum fits with ease!”

    • June 9, 2011 10:32 pm

      Thanks!! 🙂 I’m glad. I’m happy for your recent success too! You are doing great. Keep it up woman!

Leave a Reply

