Skip to content

Back to the Gym

May 9, 2011

My Gym

I had this crazy goal (perhaps just ambitious) to run a 5k on May 21st. I started my “training” on May 1st, hoping that I could build up the endurance necessary for such a feat. After all, eventually my goal is to run a half-marathon on November 20th of this year. So, logically I should start building up my tolerance anyway.

Then, last week, I was doing yoga and I pulled a muscle in my back. It was incredibly painful. I didn’t go to the gym for a few days after. The problem is, a few days out of 21 is a lot when you are preparing for a 5k.

I went back to the gym today and ran for the first time in almost a week. Amazingly enough, I ran 3.25 miles as opposed to last week when I was almost gasping for life at 3 miles. I am feeling a little hopeful that I could, in fact, actually run this 5k still.

It’s $25. Over 700 people are entering. My goals would be to 1, finish without stopping and 2, not be the last one finished! I feel like it I don’t fulfill these goals, I would fail. I guess I’m afraid to enter the race and fail. At the same time though, if I don’t enter the race to begin with, aren’t I already throwing in the towel?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

